Just Love.

It seems to be a trend in these blog posts for me to write lyrics from a song to express an idea, or what has been on repeat on my head lately. I blame this on my former musician past. I was never very good at songwriting, but to this day music has a very strong correlation with my mood, as I think it does a lot of people. Anyway, here are the lyrics for today. I am pasting in a spoken portion of it first, which comes from the Bible (1 Corinthians 13:1-3).

If I can speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy
But I don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate
If I speak God’s word with power, revealing all His mysteries
And making everything as plain as day
And if I say to a mountain jump and it jumps
But I don’t love, I’m nothing
If i give all I own to the poor
Or if I even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr
But I don’t have love, I’ve gotten nowhere
So, no matter what we say, no matter what we believe, no matter what we do
We’re bankrupt without love

So let my life be the proof of Your love
So let my love look like You and what Your made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
-For King and Country

I once heard God described as a force of pure love. This reminds me of a quote that many were apparently remembering days later after seeing Les Mis back in December (I heard this on the radio), myself included: To love another person is to see the face of God. God has also been described as pure light, so bright that everything else looks dark. This is why we need Jesus: none of us are so perfect in love that we could even be near Him. It’d be like mixing oil and water, it just doesn’t work.

It makes me think of how desperate I am to be more like that, and to be able to show others this kind of pure love that some tragically never know, because they don’t reach out and accept it. It is offered to all, but only accepted as a gift by some, which is heartbreaking.

And also how grateful I am that God does not love me like I love others. I am a sinner first, and sinned against second, but do not always remember that. I get frustrated, have my feelings hurt, and my sentiment can change for a person that I once felt so strongly about. That’s life. Everyone goes through some relationships, whether friendships or romantic ones, that begin, have a beautiful story, and then end. That’s just the thing though…God doesn’t let ours end. He stays still and loves us more than we can imagine. I think if we could truly imagine even just a fraction of it, all we would want to do is belt out songs of worship and jump up and down on a big couch while dancing comically (no…I have never done this…why do you ask…? ;)) every day.

Yet we are in a place that is constantly throwing things at us that contradict this idea, or at least distract us from it. Every now and then there are glimpses into heaven, and loving another person is probably the top way. Maybe it’s having a child, maybe it’s volunteering, maybe it’s taking care of a sick parent that really makes you understand the concept of unconditional love. Of choosing that person regardless of whether or not they are satisfying you, putting your needs first, or happen to look attractive that day.

Matthew 22:36-40

New International Version (NIV)

36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

(Biblegateway.com)

Jesus puts loving one another in almost the same place as loving God. This is an amazing statement.

Love is something incredibly special that everyone is consistently striving to obtain. Our love for one another though, even though something completely necessary, will never triumph over the sacrifice made from love that completely banished fear from death.

Leave a Reply

