Worry, Doubt, Anxiety, Oh my.

Lately I have really been struggling with what to blog about. I really want to keep up with my pattern of writing at least once a week, however lately my mind has been quite the storage closet of thoughts jumbling around. I think probably the biggest thing I can attest to during this time is the importance of trust, and alongside of that, blocking out the creeping doubts that have a tendency to wedge their way in. 

I recently received an email from one of the coordinators of my mission stint this summer in France talking about how when you do a Google search for “Bible verses about worrying”, or something along those lines, that nearly every single verse that comes up (and there are a lot) says “Do not worry”. 

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – John 14:27

This command of not worrying is repeated over and over again throughout the Bible. It stresses how when we worry, we are basically saying that we do not trust that God will provide. “But what about______?” (insert the economy, my marriage, whatever you want to here). It can be easy to find justifications attempting to maintain control over a situation, because it seems like these huge, emotional, complex issues will catch up and destroy you if you aren’t constantly trying to be proactive to the point where it has negative effects on our health. When we worry, we focus on how we are going to handle things, and evaluating how much control we have over the situation. When we look at all of life’s stresses, it would be completely overwhelming if we genuinely had to deal with it all alone. Yet we are commanded: “Do. Not. Worry.” It really couldn’t be much more clear, even though it is something much easier said than done. 

Right now I am trying to concentrate on that fact; That God knows what is best, and really will take care of things if the reins are turned over to Him. Instead of internalizing all of the “What if’s” or worst case scenarios, I want and need to ask God to do whatever it is He wants to do, which I have been doing constantly. Not only must we ask for God to have His way, but we would be foolish to not acknowledge that we also should pray for Him to grant us peace with that outcome, whatever it may be. 

Don’t worry about your life

Cause if you hold it too close 

You’ll lose it

Don’t worry about your life

So won’t you let go

Before it’s gone

-“Don’t Worry” by Rebecca St. James

Leave a Reply

